This session will describe basic definitions of emerging infectious disease and how they can become pandemics. It will also cover a number of past and present pandemics with some lessons learned and forgotten. Finally, expect some speculation about future pandemics, and provide recent information about SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19.


1.     There are no relevant financial relationships with ineligible companies for those involved with the ability to control the content of this activity.

2.     Criteria for successful completion: Watch the recording in its entirety and mark lessons as complete. A certificate will be provided and available for download after the final part of the online course is marked as complete.

3.     Montana Nurses Association is accredited with distinction as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

4.     This activity is available for contact hours through 12/31/2022.

Contact hours awarded upon successful completion: 1.5

Questions? Email them to [email protected]

This course is closed for enrollment.

Marshall E. Bloom, M.D., serves as chief of the biology of vector-borne viruses section in the Laboratory of Virology and is the associate director at the Rocky Mountain Laboratories in Hamilton, MT of the National Institutes of Health. 

The author of numerous scientific articles and book chapters, Dr. Bloom is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, American Society of Microbiology, the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, and the American Society for Virology. 

As associate director, Dr. Bloom is considered an authority on biosafety, biocontainment and management of high containment laboratory research programs.

Dr. Bloom has been a spokesperson for the RML COVID-19 research program and has a significant role in the institutional response. He has served as an advisor to local and state health departments on this topic.

In fall 2020, Dr. Bloom was inducted into the Montana Bioscience Hall of Fame.